Results 1 to 1 of 1

Thread: The Yoga Sutras and Jyotish

  1. #1
    Join Date
    September 2006
    Rep Power

    The Yoga Sutras and Jyotish

    Hari Om


    The Yoga Sutras (some call Yoga Darśana) of Patanjali muni have been discussed on a another post. I thought to add this post on the correlation of his works by chapter and their significance from a Jyotish perspective.
    The Yoga Sutras has 4 chapters:
    • Samadhi pada
    • Sadhana pada
    • Vibuthi pada
    • Kevala pada
    It is of great interest to me that these are laid out sequentially and there are 4 chapters. Why not a triad, the traditional 3 that has multiple meanings thought-out Vedic literature? Or why not 5 padas? Let see how this unfolds.

    Samadhi pada
    The first chapter is aligned with the 1st house of the birth chart. The karaka of the 1st house is the Sun (surya) and is the natural Atmakaraka ( indicator of the Atman, soul) and is all about brightness, the Atman, etc. The 1st house is also a dharma house. The alignment of ultimate dharma is that of Moksha and it is with the light of Surya that it begins.

    Within Patanjali's 1st chapter he discusses the natural state of the sadhu and how the seer abides in Itself.
    The Seer is pure consciousness and when the Seer abides in itself there is liberation for the sadhu ( sutra 1.3 is being referenced here). Like the 1st house of ones jama-kundali ( birth chart), it is the Atman abiding in Itself and recognized itSELF that brings kevalya. A nice alignment of Patanjali-ji with Jyotish principles.

    Sadhana pada
    The 2nd chapter of Patanjali has much to do with practice. That is tapas, svadhya, Ῑśvara pranidhāna i.e. kriyā yoga. This whole 2nd chapter aligns nicely to the 2nd bhava ( house) for learning, welfare, and self efforts. The wealth from tapas and self effort is gained.

    The 2nd house is an Artha house, one of wealth. We think of monetary wealth, yet along the way to kevalya, spiritual wealth plays more and more of a role in ones life. The karaka of the 2nd house is Jupiter ( Guru). He is associated with gains, learning, achievements, religion no doubt, intelligence the association with a guru, and control over the senses.

    Vibuthi pada
    The 3rd chapter is about siddhi and the method of samyama. Note that this comes 3rd. After establishing a firm foundation of discipline and understanding who the seer really is, the various practices, found in chapters 1 and 2. But what is interesting to me is why Patanjali chose to call the 3rd chapter Vibhuthi pada.

    We know vibhuthi as sacred ash used on the forehead (tilaka). This vibhuthi or विभूति is also the manifestation of might , superhuman ability, and successful issue. This is why Patanjali picked this as the name for his 3rd chapter. It is with siddhi that success and the manifestation of new abilities arise.

    The 3rd house has many indications, it is a house of strength, patience and perseverance. It’s a house of advancement which aligns to the development of siddhis. This house is a kama house, that of desires, and fulfilling them. It is by our siddhi (skill in action) in our present level of being that we too fulfill desires.

    The karkaka of the 3rd house is Mars. Mars is courage. Mars is also Hanumanji. We hear of Hanumanji's siddhi performance in the Ramayama with Sri Ram, and also in the Mahabharata e.g. becoming large and small, going up to and touching the sun, flying and/or jumping large distances such as to Sri Lanka. Hanumanji owned these abilities, these siddhis and used them accordingly.

    Kevala pada
    The 4th chapter is all about Kevela or Liberation. How one is liberated even in this lifetime. As is the 4th house in ones chart it is the 1st moksha house ( or bhava) found in the chart and is repeated in the 8th and the 12th bhavas (houses).

    The 4th chapter is the result of what takes place in the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd chapters. Now the 4th house is a natural Moksha ( Liberation) house. The natural Moksha-karaka is Ketu. The one with no head. People also associate Ganesha with Ketu, as he too had his head cut off ( that of mundane life, the ego, all that) and Ganesha being associated with Moksha.

    The 4th house is also a house of the home, owned by Moon (Chandra). Like Moksha, the native is coming home to who he/she really is, the seer, pure consciousness. The 4th house associated with Moon and home, is therefore also associated with peace of mind (moon) at home. I have been told that when one resides in kevalya, all places one may travel is like being at home, because home now resides in you.

    Via Moksha, peace of mind is steady and resides in the SELF. The 4th house is also considered the 'throne of judgment' as it receives rasi dristi from the highest point in the chart, that of the 10th house, where the sun at its highest point in the day resides and gives rasi dristi to the 4th house.

    Now in Patanjali's 4th chapter, His key sutra ( for me) is 4.25. for one who has realized the distinctive specialty of Purusa ( the SELF) the search for the nature of his SELF ceases. That is, the sadhu has then arrived.
    Patanjali then says in sutra 4.29 - On being dis-interested even in omniscience acquired through discriminative knowledge, the all-round discriminative knowledge that ensues, brings about the level of Being known as dharma mega ( or cloud pouring virtue).

    This is to say, the sadhu is secure in him-herSELF. This is no appetite for siddhis, for even omniscience, due to all the latent impressions (vasanas) being destroyed like a seed roasted in a fire (Patanjali's metaphor from a few chapters back).

    So, with the 4th house ( Moksha bhava) and the 4th Chapter (Kevala pada) the sadhu reaches the source, and brings peace and fullness (Bhuma) to him/herself.

    It is with the four aims of life Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksha that the brilliance of Patanjali shines though. It is these 4 goals that the birth chart is also composed of: 3 Dharma + 3 Artha + 3 Kama +3 Moksha = 12 bhava or 12 houses in ones chart. Now , why 3? ... perhaps it shows past, present and future.


    All the Powers of the Universe are already ours; It is We who have put our hands before our eyes and cry that it is Dark! - Vivekananda muni
    Last edited by yajvan; 09 January 2008 at 07:44 PM. Reason: Found a typo and corrected 12th house for 10th house
    यतस्त्वं शिवसमोऽसि
    yatastvaṁ śivasamo'si
    because you are identical with śiva


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts