Thread: A very confused newcomer

Talking A very confused newcomer

First off I want to say hello and I hope this post is going in the correct section. This website has been invaluable to me, I am a newcomer to Sanatana Dharma, I have been studying it for a few months. It seems funny looking back how I cam to be where I am now, it seems it was fate for me to discover Eastern thought and have so many questions answered that Western religion could not.

Anyway, I have a question that may seem silly and may cause some eyerolls haha!!! I have not commited to any one sect, and frankly I don't think I can. I find beauty is Vishnu, Shiva, Shakti and all of their various forms. It seems once I become content in one form, I discover another one that takes my heart. It may seem silly, since it is all one God, but here lies my question. I have spoken different mantras, to Shiva, Vishnu, Durga, Ganesha, but is this a respectful thing to do? Some places I have read shun this, and say you should focus on only one mantra.

What I am basically asking is can I worship all forms equally?

Re: A very confused newcomer

Namaste Mike.

I am no expert when it comes to Hindu philosophy, but I don't see anything wrong with what you do. If we are truly to realize that there is only one being, who we call by many names, and see in many forms, how could we dare say what you do is improper? I know many Smarthas make a habit out of worshiping five or six particular deities; eg: Ganesha, Vishnu, Shiva, Devi, Surya and/or Murugan. Now, I'm fairly certain most do have an ishta deva in particular, but I wouldn't be surprised to see a Smartha who worships all of these deities equally, so perhaps this type of worship you do isn't that uncommon after all.

Namaste 'horrormike'.