Thread: first home shrine

Talking first home shrine

Namaste Everyone

i am new to Sanatana Dharma and am setting up my first home shrine. I was wondering, are there certain mantras needed to install the deity at home or can i start worshiping as is? i consider myself vaishnava and have a statue of Narayana and a picture of Krishna if that helps. also any other tips are greatly appreciated.

thanks so much for your insights and help

Jai Sri Krishna!!!

Re: first home shrine

Namaste jaya_narayana,

My understanding is that you can take your Murtis to a temple and have the Pandit at the temple "give life" to your Images. This service will cost you a nominal fee.

I have spent a long time wondering whether I need to do this myself. My Murtis haven't been through any ritual other than regular worship. I keep reading that they must go through these rituals otherwise the statue or picture is just an object and my prayers are in vain. :-(

I have two opinions about giving life to Murtis. The first being that any Murti is only there to help you focus on a particular aspect of God or aspect of assistance that God can give you. The second being that maybe the "requirement" of these rituals to be performed by a trained Pandit is a tactic used by a temple to encourage you to attend the temple whilst supporting the temples financial needs. (I am coming from the angle that they need money to stay open, rather than the they are out for your money angle.)

Om Namah Shivaya

Hemant

Namaste!

Thank you Hemant for the information. if i don't live near a temple to have the ceremony done, can i still perform pujas with the murtis?

another question to everyone. i purchased a basic puja set that contains many of the instruments needed. one thing puzzled me though, the kit included a roll of red thread and it said that it was to tie around the wrist. my question is which wrist does it go around, and is it worn during the puja or put on after?

thanks again

Jai Sri Krishna!