Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is Classical-influenced Goa trance good, bad, both, or neither?

Is Classical-influenced Goa trance good, bad, both, or neither?

anyone listen to or make Goa trance? I do: http://www.traxinspace.com/profile/darwin (the pieces described as 24-tone and sitar are newer.) I first listened in 1995 and liked it because some was like heavy metal. Though in '96 I started making techno-industrial and in '97 tried guitar more I only liked hard music until '98 until I did Yoga/meditation and disliked most rock. In '98 I started studying a little (Western) Classical at school and in the last few years concluded traditional/Classical is best. It includes cultural/'ethnic'/'folk'/'popular'/'world' music, which many Classicists consider inferior but they are wrong: traditional cultural musics are great and educated (not exactly 'folk art,' e.g. 'uneducated') traditions.

A question is whether new traditions are worthwhile. Some Western pop. musicians in the 60s (rock at the time) were influenced by Indian traditional/Classical and have continued to be like in the 80s with Goa trance.

Rock after the 60s was more aggressive and it has always been rather egotistic. Some electro is more egotistic/aggressive, but what I came to like--not hardcore (except happycore) and few/no lyrics--seems less so. It also seems more like traditional (pre-electric cultural) dance music than rock does.

I really like Ravi & Anoushka Shankar and would rather be trying sitar than making any more Goa 'trance:' siitar should be spiritual as it is. In '98 - '9 I also started didgeridoo and spent half a year in a college African drumming club. Honestly, traditional instruments can basically be as loud and effective as electronic ones--and usually sound better--but sitars are expensive. However I may be thinking/hearing more Eastern than Western melodies and writing them on computer or paper is all I can afford.