Thread: New member of the forum

New member of the forum

Hello all

My name is Gill Harley and I live in the UK. I've been following the spiritual path for more than 30 years and I look forward to having many interesting discussions with you all.

I have some knowledge of the Vedas but I've also studied Judaeo-Christianity and have read many sacred stories or scriptures including the Egyptian Hermetica, the Celtic stories (both Irish and Welsh) and the Sumerian legends like Gilgamesh and the Descent of Ishtar.

I mainly read them not to spot their differences, but to see what they all have in common, which is considerable. In fact, I'm finding their similarities are far greater than their differences and I'm beginning to believe that they all came originally from the same source, possibly Vedic. I believe that these stories, or myths, spread across from India and travelled throughout Mesopotamia, Egypt and Greece - and then finally Europe.

I also practice meditation, and have been a celibate vegetarian for the past eight years.

I'd be very interesting in talking to anyone who is interested in the commonalities of religions and the source of all spirituality.

Quote Originally Posted by Gill Harley
    I mainly read them not to spot their differences, but to see what they all have in common, which is considerable. In fact, I'm finding their similarities are far greater than their differences and I'm beginning to believe that they all came originally from the same source, possibly Vedic. I believe that these stories, or myths, spread across from India and travelled throughout Mesopotamia, Egypt and Greece - and then finally Europe.

I'd be very interesting in talking to anyone who is interested in the commonalities of religions and the source of all spirituality.
    namaste Gill,