Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: *Japa Mala*

Question *Japa Mala*

I was wondering, If anyone knows how to make a Japa Mala? I'm new to prayer and meditation and want to make one for myself.
    -AASHNA DEVI SHUKLA- ॐ नमस्ते / ॐ नमः शिवाय

Re: *Japa Mala*

Making isn't the hard part, sourcing the materials will be. You haven't let on to your tradition yet, so I'll just state that to make malas for Shivite traditions you will need rudraksha beads and Tulsi wood beads for Vaishnava traditions, I'm not sure what others use.

Individual Tulsi beads are hard to find, I've yet to find any myself. Rudraksha bead can be found individualally but for the price of buying 109 beads retail will cost mor than just buying a mala. I understand you might have a budget, but honestly the malas are the least expensive. I purchased my Tulsi malas for around 9 euros including shipping from India. There are cheaper ones out there if you don;t mind splinters and bits of bark still left on.

All I have is pony beads will that do? I'm on a budget and don't have a job
    -AASHNA DEVI SHUKLA- ॐ नमस्ते / ॐ नमः शिवाय

Vannakkam Aashna:

I see no reason why you couldn't go against tradition and use any kind of bead. Of course there is a tradition. I am a staunch Saiva, but I use some other kind of mala besides rudraksha. I know it's not tulsi either but it is a mala. Can't even remember where I got it.

The best thing about seeing a mala is if its been used a lot. If you meet someone with a beat up old book that you figure they bought new, then its a good indicator of how much its been read. Nothing worse than seeing brand new books of scripture on someone's shelf.