Thread: Penances

Penances

Vannakam,

Although I am not technically a new devotee (new being relative in this case), I was not sure which board this post would be appropriate in. In any event, I feel I have strayed slightly from the path and as some reparation would like to perform a realistic penance. Such as a week without something I enjoy doing, but I am not sure if that is actually penances, these aren't severe ascetic penances, just ones that will help me along the path so I can focus more on meditation and classes.

If anyone has any more information on what could be considered a penance, the information would be greatly appreciated

Namaste

Re: Penances

Vannakkam Eric:

Penance is most often associated with Lord Murugan, and since you live reasonably close to a Murugan temple (Lanham) , perhaps you could go there and perform pradakshina 108 times either inside or outside. Another simple one is to prostrate 108 times. This one could even be done to your home shrine. Fasting is another. These are just simple suggestions. Performing penance is usually done until the individual feels that they have atoned, although there are also other reasons. Of course this depends on the severity or nature of the lapse in dharma.

Aum Namasivaya

Vannakam,

I don't feel that my lapse is too great, but I do feel the need to do it, so I may fast or prostrate myself as you have suggested, thank you for the ideas. as for the temple, I'm not sure that is viable despite relative closeness

Dear Friend

Sri Krishna, very clearly and beautifully, describes the meaning of the term "Tapas"(very roughly translated as penance/austerity ) in Bhagavad Gita...

Lets understand the beautiful words of Paramathma...

We have been told that great rishi's and muni's [sages] sit in a forest, secluded from the materialistic world, concentrate on Him and do "tapas" for many years, without food, water or anything....