Thread: Job seeking

Job seeking

Not sure where this should go but I am presently seeking employment and I wonder what sort of mantras should I chant? I am guessing I should propitiate Ganesh? Should I perhaps have a puja done at a local temple? What should I do?

Re: Job seeking

No pun intended... for job seeking prepare and qualify yourself professionally. Divine help is already there if you are well prepared.

Vannakkam DK: I'm really not sure of your specifics but certainly there are general rules or ideas.

persistence ... I recall sending out exactly 50 applications to school boards when I graduated with B.Ed. 50 was the goal. From that I got 3 interviews and 1 job. See the job hunting as a job in itself, so put 8 hours a day into it.

recognition of the employer, and adjust your outward appearance, language, attitude ... I cut my hair.

be flexible about how you look ... newspaper ads, placement services, door to door, internet job sites ... use it all

ask them stuff in an interview ... most employers want self directed people who can think independently, and this is an indicator to them

have a really well done resume ... have someone look it over

Sideline ... (I was listening to an analysis of foreign workers here in Canada and how there is a cultural barrier ... in Asia (particularly China, but also India) many people wait for the boss to tell them what to do ... here you're expected to find something to do on your own, not just sit and wait)

Best wishes in becoming the world's next millionaire.

Aum Namasivaya

Quote Originally Posted by Divine Kala View Post
    Not sure where this should go but I am presently seeking employment and I wonder what sort of mantras should I chant? I am guessing I should propitiate Ganesh? Should I perhaps have a puja done at a local temple? What should I do?