Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Diwali?

Diwali?

I'm new to Hinduism...and I have googled it..but I can't get a straight answer....so...what is it? How is one "supposed" to celebrate it? I read about the lamps and how the holiday is a symbol of moksha.

I guess I'm just still really confused.
    "I'm alright, right now."

Re: Diwali?

Dear Friend,

Here is a summary regarding the significance related to Deepavali...

What is Deepavali?

Deepavali, in Sanskrit means numerous lamps ....darkness which is representation of tamasa guna needs to be eliminated by illumination..or light of knowledge and hence this festival is celebrated by lighting
    lamps....the actual meaning being, removing one's the darkness caused by ignorance and illuminating ourselves with the light of knowledge to understand Paramathma...

What is its significance?

Deepavali in core is celebrated for three days...
    1st day: Naraka chaturdashi
    2nd day: Maha Lakshmi Pooja
    3rd day: Bali PrathiPaadya

Please see the three stories in summary [long but does not cover all details], in case you are interested, else please skip to the part after that, below....

1st day: Naraka chaturdashi

As the name indicates, chaturdashi is the 14th day of a paksha[here Krishna paksha]...Naraka whose original name is Bhauma, according to our Puranas, was the son of Sri Varaha[Sri Vishnu's Boar Avatar] and Bhumi or Earth...
    Being son of Bhumi, he was very proud and hence started doing all sorts of evil things...the Devatas approached Sri Vishnu and requested
    Him to control His son....Sri Vishni promised them that He shall kill Bhauma when the right time occurs...once this was known to Bhumi,
    She approached Sri Maha Vishnu and requested Him to grant a long life for their son and should only kill him in presence of Her, after