Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hindu helping someone learn Buddhism?

Hindu helping someone learn Buddhism?

I think it's common knowledge I come up with some humdinger subjects, but this one surprises even me.

I have someone who is becoming interested in Nichiren Buddhism, specifically, chanting the Nam Myoho Renge Kyo mantra and parts of the Lotus Sutra. He has an altar set up with statues and pictures of Guan Yin and the Buddha, a water vessel, a green plant, and a gohonzon in the form of a statue (he's a nepophyte and not initiated to use a true gohonzon).

Now, I know less than nothing about Buddhism... heck, I'm still learning about Hinduism! It's not my intention to incorporate Buddhist practices into my worship, but because I am a quick study, and I was a chanter in my EOC days, I find it easy to chant. I'd like to help him learn the chants and intonations. Due to my quick-study abilities, I believe I can guide him in the basics of Nichiren-sho practices.

Does anyone see any problem with this, specifically if I chant the parts of the Lotus Sutra with him to teach him? That is, is it disrespectful to Buddhists that a non-Buddhist do this? (I did not intend that to rhyme, but it does underscore my rhythmic abilities ).
    śivasya hridayam viṣṇur viṣṇoscha hridayam śivaḥ

Re: Hindu helping someone learn Buddhism?

Hari Om

Namaste Touched by the Lord,

With the exception of those that may have some different affixation on the founder of this form of school, do not know how one could be offended. Think is good thing to help in this regard. Very good.

TBTL, can you rap?

Om Shanti.

FFTW

3. Re: Hindu helping someone learn Buddhism?

Quote Originally Posted by TouchedbytheLord View Post
    ------------------
    These are corrupt chants which do not need to be chanted.

Buddhism was a section of Hinduism but it was separated in the later parts, I have mentioned it earlier too.