Thread: What is the moral lesson of the Nrsimha story?

What is the moral lesson of the Nrsimha story?

Dear users,

I recently read the 7th canto of the Bhagavatam. Maybe it's the illustrations that confused me but I have trouble to draw the moral lesson out of it. What can we "learn" from it? That children best be raised without toys? That your father will stop loving you if you don't develop according to his wishes? That spiritual life mean trials and tribulations? That all worldly things are futile? Maybe you have different views but these are the questions that spontaneously came to my mind. Maybe you could explain the interpretation to me.

Re: What is the moral lesson of the Nrsimha story?

Namaste Cosinuskurve,

I'm not an expert, but this is a story I love and will try my hand at it.

* I think the most important moral to be learnt from this story is the omnipresence of God. It is to prove Bhakta Prahlada's words correct - that He is present in anything and everything, even a mundane pillar in Hiranyakashipu's hall, that Lord Vishnu emerges as Narasimha from within it.

* There is a time for everything, and nothing happens before or after that. Lord Vishnu could've slain Hiranyakashipu anytime he wanted, but he specifically waits until the asura draws his sword to kill Prahlada personally. It is at that point that he crosses the line of bad karma, and his demise homes in.

* It is our own karmas that make us who we are in the end, not our birth. Prahlada was born in a family of the vilest and most cruel asuras in existence, sworn enemies of dharma, but due to his brave and selfless devotion he is remembered as one of the greatest bhaktas ever. A beautiful lotus can bloom in the filthiest and muddiest of ponds.