Thread: Navaratri question

Navaratri question

Not sure if I'm putting this thread in the correct place?

Anyway, I have a question about the difference between Navaratri and Rama Navami.

My Ashram celebrates Navaratri in the spring and in the fall for nine days.

But my temple celebrates Rama Navami in the spring and Navaratri in the fall.

I'm new to my temple, I have only gone there for a little over a year... actually almost two now...but I thought Navaratri was celebrated twice a year (sometimes four times a year, winter and summer as well)

I would love if if someone can explain this.

Maya

Re: Navaratri question

http://www.onlyhinduism.com/

will give u more sites as i come across . Iam sure lot has already been discussed about both the festivals here somewhere. Namaste.

Quote Originally Posted by Maya3 View Post
    Not sure if I'm putting this thread in the correct place?

Anyway, I have a question about the difference between Navaratri and Rama Navami.

My Ashram celebrates Navaratri in the spring and in the fall for nine days.

But my temple celebrates Rama Navami in the spring and Navaratri in the fall.

I'm new to my temple, I have only gone there for a little over a year... actually almost two now...but I thought Navaratri was celebrated twice a year (sometimes four times a year, winter and summer as well)

I would love if if someone can explain this.

Maya

3. Re: Navaratri question

Navratri is actually for worshipping nine forms of Durga, it comes twice in a year in the lunar months of Chaitra and Ashwin. Sri Ram was born on the ninth day of Chaitra, so it is also celebrated as birthday of Sri Ram, Ram Navmi.
    [CENTER][B][FONT=Arial Black][SIZE=7][COLOR=Yellow] ॐ[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B]
    [/CENTER]

Quote Originally Posted by PARAM View Post