Thread: Interview Request

Interview Request

Hello everybody,
    I am currently enrolled in a World Religions course through University. I am working on my final paper and one of the requirements is for me to contact someone of the religion I am studying to interview them about their beliefs and practices. One of the the religions I am writing about is Hinduism in regards to immortality and meditative processes. I am particularly interested on the ability to achieve immortality and what it means for you as well as the meditative practices (yoga in particular) used within Hinduism and if you use them as well. If there is someone here that is willing to answer these questions for me I would really appreciate it.

1. What does immortality mean in Hinduism (according to the ancient belief and how you perceive it)?
    2. How do individuals reach immortality (according to the ancient belief and how you perceive it)?
    3. What kind of meditative practices are used within Hinduism (according to the ancient belief and how you practice it)?
    4. Where did the meditative practices originate from (according to the ancient belief and how you perceive it)?

Thank you!

Re: Interview Request

Hello Keyskenz:

1. What does immortality mean in Hinduism (according to the ancient belief and how you perceive it)?

In Hinduism, "we" are not the body. The body is made up of unconscious prakriti/material cause. What provides life to the body is the atman/purusha. The essence of purusha is consciousness. Purusha is neither created nor destroyed. It is beginningless and eternal - thus it is immortal.

Quote Originally Posted by Krishna to Arjuna in BG 13:19
    You must understand that both Prakriti and Purusha are without beginning.
    2. How do individuals reach immortality (according to the ancient belief and how you perceive it)?