Thread: Confused about Moksha

Unhappy Confused about Moksha

I am just beginning to learn about Advaita philosophy and have a hypothetical question.

So, if my understanding is correct, there is one consciousnes, Brahman.

It is therefore an illusion that Person A and Person B are two different beings or consciousness.

If that is true then why is it if person A, realizes the true nature, he realizes or achieves moksha, while person B is still stuck in maya?

also is brahman capable of thinking? is that why maya exists because brahman got confused?

certainly advaita makes more sense to me then individual atmans existing because scientsits say consciousness comes fromthe brain

Re: Confused about Moksha

Quote Originally Posted by seekinganswers View Post

It is therefore an illusion that Person A and Person B are two different beings or consciousness.
    The problem word is "illusion". It is true that they are both brahman, but it is also true that they are not the same internal monologue; the brains of the two entities contain different thoughts, but the consciousness is one.

If that is true then why is it if person A, realizes the true nature, he realizes or achieves moksha, while person B is still stuck in maya?
    Because that's how the scripts of those individuals work to generate a story. The universe and all life is one big drama which brahman is simultaneously the actors and the audience. Achieving Moksha is where the character becomes aware that it is also the audience. Characters in maya are unaware of the fact that they are the audience, so the play is a much more serious affair for them, which only creates more and more of this divine drama.

also is brahman capable of thinking? is that why maya exists because brahman got confused?