Thread: How to Pray Mantras Correctly

How to Pray Mantras Correctly

Namaste,
    I am new to Sanatana Dharma (as you probably know) one of the things about me is that I am a perfectionist and my own critic. I feel like I am doing the Mantras wrong. If you guys would please give some guidance on how to pray the mantras.

Thank You Very Much

Re: How to Pray Mantras Correctly

Namaste Shakti,

Welcoem to the forum !

Your signature has become laughable due to wrong translation. In "I bow to you" "bow" is used for doing "PranAm" and not "Dhanush" which is used with an arrow.

OM
    "Om Namo Bhagvate Vaasudevaye"

Namaste Shakti,

Do you mean to chant the mantras?

If that's what you mean, then the first step would be silencing your mind. Once it's calm and clear, close your eyes and focus your thoughts on the God or mantra or whatever you're chanting for. You should feel that Divine Energy in you.

Just my two cents worth. Perhaps a more knowledgeable member can explain it further.

Quote Originally Posted by 4Shakti View Post
    Namaste,
    I am new to Sanatana Dharma (as you probably know) one of the things about me is that I am a perfectionist and my own critic. I feel like I am doing the Mantras wrong. If you guys would please give some guidance on how to pray the mantras.

Thank You Very Much
    Namaste,

In whatever way is most comfortable to you. It should always be done with great devotion and love and with deep concentration, though.

OM

Vannakkam 4Shakti: Within Hinduism, there are many viewpoints and schools of thought, ranging from Orthodox traditional to syncretic liberal. There are also many many sects, sampradayas (schools) within sects, and individual teacher interpretations, along with varied combinations of all of the above. Individuals are free to listen to one or two or twenty ideas.