Thread: Simultaneously accumulating Karma

Simultaneously accumulating Karma

Is it possible to simultaneously incur negative/positive karma at the same time?

For example, say if I had to be studying but I'm procrastinating (in the mode of ignorance) but in that period of long procrastination, I'm studying I don't know the Gita or hinduism or something - then would I simultaneously incur both karmas into their respective bank(s)?

Or, if I had to go to a job tommorow, and if I didn't arrive there (its geographical immobility) according to economics because I had to give a speech to kids, that will help them for their exams, but in its place I went and donated money to the temple and did volunteer work at a homeless place.
    Would I simultaneously incur both karmas?

Just a thought.

Re: Simultaneously accumulating Karma

Understanding "how Karmas work" is difficult. Actually, our way of understanding Karmas as +ve or -ve is only relative in sense. If you didn't attend a job interview, you may lose a job but that may not be due to your present Karma alone ... it may be that you were destined not to get that job due to your previous Karmas. The present Karmas of doing something good instead of attending the job interview would generate further good chances when the time is ripe.

OM
    "Om Namo Bhagvate Vaasudevaye"

Vannakkam: an extension to Devotee's comment ... or the better job is the one you get next week, so it's 'good' karma not to get the job.

Just as all people, hold some 'positive' traits, and some 'negative' traits, so too with karma. I think its a clearer perspective to get rid of the good/bad altogether.

Aum Namasivaya

There appear to be so many ways of understanding Karma. The question you ask i think serves to demonstrate that the "good / bad thing now = good / bad thing in future" model really isn't enough.

The view i currently hold is something like this: