Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Question

Question

Namaste all. I try to meditate sometimes, but I always feel so overcome with worry. I am a student and right now I am taking quite a few classes that keep me busy and even feeling stressed. So, when I try to meditate, thoughts come to my mind like, "did I remember to submit that assignment?" "Did I study enough for that test?"

My question is, are there any ways to calm my mind? For those of you that are students here, what do you do to help yourself remain calm?

Thank you all,

Vitani

Re: Question

Hi 5. 18 year old student. My advice is remember that time that you idle away doing nothing merely thinking about work - but you feel not nearly as much sorrow doing those things, but when someone asks you do some work, you scream 'I MUST STUDY!'

Furthermore remember that it is not a waste of time, its time well spent on mastery of certain things, and time dedicated towards the divine, so you will surely benefit from it, as per the law of karma. That is my opinion. So listen to a mantra before meditating, whichever you like - and forget everything except the divine, sit down and concentrate on relaxing every part of your body. That is what my father taught me. You'll realise your neck, fingers, shoulders and certain parts of your body will be tense...so target every part and loosen them...hopefully you'll be fine!

Other members will give better advice but that is just my humble view

हरिः ओम्

Namaste Vitani,

I would recommend swimming or some other form of rhythmic aerobic sport, this will help move the nervous energy at the
    same time that it assists your breathing in becoming deeper, more regulated, the heart stronger. the heart is after all, the
    central mechanism in this process, every thought has a root in the heart.

Are you breathing deeply into the stomach with your diaphragm, or into the top of the lungs; if it is into the lungs you will