Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Character Building

Character Building

Vannakkam: I recently attended a short workshop on character building. It was explained as essentially a further division of yamas and niyamas. Meant as a one-year study, 52 character traits with their definitions, and practical examples were developed.

One of the views of SD is that it is essentially a character development religion, so I thought it might be interesting to share some of this.

The first trait explored is attentiveness. It means paying concentrated attention to tasks, and to people. The opposite is inattentiveness. Eye contact, a focused mind, not fidgeting during activities are signs of it. Texting, fidgeting, etc are signs of the opposite. So the idea was to practise it (obviously) and reflect on one's own ability to put it into action. I must admit there are times when I'm not good at it, and probably come across as rude.

Thoughts?

Aum Namasivaya
    Last edited by Eastern Mind; 24 June 2012 at 05:57 PM.

Re: Character Building

Quote Originally Posted by Eastern Mind View Post
    Vannakkam: I recently attended a short workshop on character building. It was explained as essentially a further division of yamas and niyamas. Meant as a one-year study, 52 character traits with their definitions, and practical examples were developed.

One of the views of SD is that it is essentially a character development religion, so I thought it might be interesting to share some of this.

The first trait explored is attentiveness. It means paying concentrated attention to tasks, and to people. The opposite is inattentiveness. Eye contact, a focused mind, not fidgeting during activities are signs of it. Texting, fidgeting, etc are signs of the opposite. So the idea was to practise it (obviously) and reflect on one's own ability to put it into action. I must admit there are times when I'm not good at it, and probably come across as rude.

Thoughts?

Aum Namasivaya