Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Artificial Hearts

1. Artificial Hearts

Hi Everyone,

I am currently in my first year of sixth form and am completing an extended project on the future of artificial hearts. A part of this project will include religious and ethical views on the devices.

There are two types of these defices: ones with a constant flow (i.e. they don't beat or pump as a human heart would), and ones which have a pumping action.

If you have any opinion on this, as in if you would have one if needed as opposed to a transplant or if you think that making something like this is right, I would greatly appreciate your comments, from both a religious and personal point of view.

Thankyou for your help.

Laura Myers

Re: Artificial Hearts

Hi Laura,

From a personal point of view, I'd say that such a creation would greatly benefit mankind. But does this artificial heart ever stop? We know that a person is officially 'dead' when the heart stops beating for a prolonged period of time. If this heart goes on beating , while the brain and other parts of the body are dead and start decaying, when would they be considered dead?

In other words, there are both negative and positive effects.

From a religious point of view, it definitely meddles with the natural cycle of life, besides interfering with God's duty. We know that every single one of us has a set period of time to live on Earth, before God calls us back. If one still intends to live longer than that given period, then it makes me wonder where we are heading to. It's similar to the 'cloning' issue, which sparked many religious debates.

Maybe it's just God's way of giving us some advancement and excitement?
    Or maybe allowing us to become more self-sufficient, though it is still He who controls everything?

Makes me wonder.

namaskar,
    From personal or religious point of view, I have no issues with this.