Thread: After life?

After life?

I'm a bit new to all of this and have been reading as much as I can but I have something that is confusing me.

Am I understanding this correctly: If we remove all of the ego all that is left is the Atman/Brahman that pervades all. Also, I read that that part of us after the ego is gone is like the part of us that is there when we are in deep sleep. So, after we die it's just like being asleep? Which, is kind of the same as saying that there is nothing after death, unless of course there is reincarnation but then that is just incarnation if there is not an 'me' to reincarnate.

I probably have this really wrong so please forgive my ignorance.

Re: After life?

Hi,

There are atleast three different POVs on soteriology in Hinduism.

(1)Nyaya/Mimamsa view: Final salvation is described by negation - "absence of pain". The reason for this is metaphysical. Per Nyaya, consciousness is an adventitious property of the self. The self that reincarnates can have consciousness only only if it is embodied. In moksha, since there is no embodiment, there is no consciousness. Hence, "absence of pain" is the best way to describe this. This is also similar to certain Buddhist soteriological claims.

(2)Dvaitin view: Final salvation consists of the potential for embodiment if desired. This thread may be of help.